Notifications are the way you and your clients know of actions on the portal. They are sent when an individual task has been performed on the Portal. When notifications are sent from the Portal, the email will show:


[Firm Name] via HowNow Portal – with an actual email address of portal@hownowhq.com, so the from address on notifications will look like this:


Your Firm via HowNow Portal <portal@hownowhq.com>


When a client replies to an email sent from the portal, you can have that go to an address in your Firm. To set the “Reply To” address, from Settings> Notifications> Set Notifications Reply Address and add the email address for your firm e.g. info@firmname.com.au. Unless this reply address is set, emails will be addressed from no-reply@hownowhq.com and clients will not be able to reply to that address.




You will also want to personalise notifications that are sent from the Portal on your behalf. When customising notifications there is an option to include an image on any or all of the notifications. This is done by having the image hosted on an web page and adding the link to the web page. 


Below is a list of the available notifications detailing what action triggers each notification:


Template Definition
Sent to the Client (Account)
Account Invite This notification is sent to an account when you have set them up to access the portal. From the link in this notification the account holder can access the portal and choose their own password. Once the account has accepted the invitation and successfully logged in to the portal, “Accepted” will show in the Accounts List. The invite link expires after 24 hours if not accepted. Should this occur, you are able to resend the invitation from the Accounts Page.
Account Reset Password This notification is generated when an account holder selects “Forgotten Password” from the login page and allows them to reset their password from the link in the email.
Account Reset Password Occurred This notification is generated when an account holder selects “Forgotten Password” from the login page and allows them to reset their password from the link in the email.
Document Requires Signatures This notification is generated when an account holder selects “Forgotten Password” from the login page and allows them to reset their password from the link in the email.
Document Task Removed If you have set a document up for signature the account holder(s) will have received the “Document Requires Signatures” notification. If you subsequently remove the Signing Task, the account holders(s) will receive this notification to advise them the signing has been removed.
Firm File Uploaded This notification is sent to the account holders(s) when you have uploaded a document for them. It is sent to each account holder on the client who is set up to receive notifications (see instructions regarding this below). If a document is uploaded to the portal and, within 5 minutes, you add a signing task to the document, this notification will not be sent (the “Document Requires Signatures” notification only will be sent in that instance).
Sent to the Firm
Account File Downloaded This notification is sent to the Firm to advise that a file has been downloaded by an account holder. The notification is sent to the email address set-up to receive all notifications and/or any other email address set to receive notifications for the client associated with the account holder.
Account File Uploaded This notification is sent to the Firm advising that a file has been uploaded by an account holder assigned to one of your clients. The notification is sent to the email address set-up to receive all notifications and/or any other email address set to receive notifications for the client associated with the account holder.
Account Signed Up This notification is sent to the Firm advising that the account holder has completed their sign up to the portal. The notification is sent to the email address set-up to receive all notifications and/or any other email address set to receive notifications for the client associated with the account holder.
Documents Requires Employee Signature When setting up a document for signature, you are able to elect to have it also signed by a firm representative. When the signing has been completed by the account holder(s), this notification is sent to the employee in the firm who has been selected as the person to sign the document, to advise that they can now sign the document.
Document Signing Complete This notification is sent to the Firm to advise that the signing of a document has now been completed. The notification is sent to the email address set-up to receive all notifications and/or any other email address set to receive notifications for the client associated with the account holder signing the document.
Employee Accepted Invite This notification is sent to the Firm to advise that the relevant employee has completed their account set-up.
Employee Added  This notification is sent to an employee when you have set them up to access the portal admin site. From the link in this notification the employee can access the portal and choose their own password. Once the employee has accepted the invitation and successfully logged in to the portal, “Accepted” will show in the Employees List. The invite link expires after 24 hours if not accepted. Should this occur, you are able to resend the invitation from the Employees Page.


To edit a notification, select a notification from the list and click the Edit button to bring up the editor.



Each notification has an email template which can be customised using the merge fields provided to enable the auto filling of these fields with the appropriate information.

 

You can also add your firm's logo to the email notification by providing a link to the appropriate file. Select the image icon and complete the details shown below: