Setting up a document for signing using Adobe Sign uses one of two options:

  • Simple Sign
  • Advanced Sign (previously Secure Sign)

See this link for AdobeSign PDF Requirements


Simple Sign
This option is used to enable the Client to click and accept the document without the need to enter a signature image throughout the document. This method of signature is very secure and just requires the Client to confirm that they accept the entire document.


The security behind this method is that the Account is required to have access to their own email to be able to sign the document. So their email userid and password are required to access the link, therefore no other security, such as pins, is required.


Once the document has been uploaded to the portal, go to Tasks and select Adobe Sign.


Once you have selected Adobe Sign, you will be presented with a screen to select the signatories for this document. This can be a single Account signatory or multiple Account signatories as well as signing by a firm representative (Employee). Select the appropriate people and then click Confirm.

Note: do not click Advanced Signing Options unless you require that option - see below to setup these alternative options.


A notification email will be sent to the Account(s), with a link to the document asking them to sign. 


After the Account(s) has signed the document, the firm representative (Employee) will receive an email notification informing them that the document now requires their signature - the email will include the link to the document. 



Advanced Signing Options


This option is used when you want to assign the place(s) the Account needs to digitally sign the document with an image throughout the document. 


Once the document has been uploaded to the portal, follow the steps above.


Once you have selected Adobe Sign, you will be presented with a screen to select the signatories for this document. This can be a single Account signatory or multiple Account signatories as well as signing by a firm representative (Employee). Select the appropriate people, tick the box beside Advanced Signing Options and then click Confirm.


The document will then be opened to enable signatures to be added throughout the document. Click and drag to add a signature box or any other type of information required – you will need to do this for each signer you added in the previous step. On the right, you will see Recipients - select the appropriate recipient and add the signature fields. The main fields used are Signature (from the Signature Fields dropdown) and Date (from the Signer Info Fields dropdown). For a full explanation of all the fields available in the Signing Fields, please see "Roles" and "Field types" in the authoring window.



Click on Send once you have finished placing all the fields for all signatories.


The signee’s will be notified with an email containing a link to the document to enable signing. Once all accounts have signed the document an email containing a link to the document will be emailed to the firm representative (if this was selected) to sign the document.


IMPORTANT NOTES:

  • The firm representative/s is only eligible to sign the document after the selected account(s) have completed signing the document.
  • If a firm representative has been nominated to sign and all accounts have already signed, the document task will remain as "AdobeSecureSign" until the firm representative signs.



DECLINED Signing

An Account has the option, through Adobe, to Decline the signing of the document.

(Note: reporting on this Adobe feature has been introduced in version 1.0.0.702 - prior to this, documents that have been Declined signing will still show the task as AdobeSign)


Should this be the case, the Employee who setup the signing agreement will receive an email notification with a 'reason' if the Account provided one at the time.

The status of the document will show as DECLINED in >Clients >View Documents tab in the Admin Portal.



Documents that have been Declined will show in the Unsigned Document Report and also on the Dashboard highlighted in RED.